Hyelm was founded in 1926 by the late Arthur J. West who, realising the great need, decided to provide a personal service accommodation club for young people moving to London to work or study.
It started life in Tufnell Park, North London, where several properties were occupied and moved to a Victorian property in Hampstead in the early 1950s after increasing repair costs and war damage made it necessary to consolidate.
Funded mainly by grants from the greater London Council, the Hampstead property was demolished during the 1970s to make way for Arthur West House - a purpose-built development that went on to provide accommodation and facilities for up to 233 residents.
Construction began on a new Hyelm property in the Old Street area of London in 2006. This opened in March 2008 and now provides modern accommodation and facilities for up to 125 young people in housing need as well as those from priority housing groups.
In 1996, Hyelm entered into merger negotiations with Ames House, which offered housing with support for 25 young women in Hampstead. Ames House was established in the late 1890's.
After negotiations with the Charity Commissioners, a group structure was formed whereby the two organisations retained their separate legal identities and Hyelm became the sole corporate trustee of Ames House.
The Ames House property was sold during 2004. A long-term lease of a portion of Arthur West House, comprising of 68 bed spaces, was subsequently purchased from Hyelm with the proceeds from the sale.
Arthur West House
In 2014, Hyelm and Ames House sold Arthur West House with a view to using the sale proceeds to provide more contemporary accommodation, services and facilities elsewhere in London in areas considered by young people to be vibrant and attractive. The new development programme is currently in the early stages of delivery. Regular updates are provided within the 'New Developments' section of this site.
Want to find out more? View the 'Our History' section within the Gallery.